Storytelling , Orientation & Me

Standard

Dwordslayer

mom stage

Growing up I never thought I was poor until someone said I was. Did I believe them -no, because poverty was associated with no place to call home, no food, no family, no education, no love, and I had them all!

We did not have a television for many years, though everyone else did. My mother  was a teacher for elementary  school and would help us create our own movies from the books we read. Aesop’s fables, Brothers Grimm, Hans Christian Anderson, Enid Blyton, and many others were the ‘drafts’ for our scripts.

My sisters and I were also encouraged to write original stories, poems and songs based on a theme given a few days before. We made costumes and rehearsed our lines, and every Saturday evening, we had two or three ‘shows’ my three sisters and I. My mother was the director / producer, and though we never…

View original post 663 more words

Leave a Reply

